Not a solo act

image5

The best place to cry is in the shower.  Really it is.  Only God can hear you and only God can see you, and by the time you are finished with the whole shower process your face isn’t red and puffy.  There was a time in my life when every morning it was an effort to drag myself out of bed, and into the shower I would go, only to dissolve into tears.

Thanks to God, this shower blubber time got better, when I reached out.  I had been facing a lot of physical pain and it was affecting every part of my life.  BUT I was facing my mountain alone.  I was not in community. I had not told friends and family about what was going on in my life.  The Spunky Hunk knew, but no-one else in my ‘inner circle’.  I reached the depths of despair and finally, I thought out of neediness, but it was really my only option I turned to a friend and admitted what was going.  Suddenly my problem was no longer just my problem.  There was someone to share the load.  There was someone to call when I was having a bad pain day (and she could tell from hearing it in my voice).  There was someone to pray for me.  Someone to take me along to healing meetings.  Someone to drop hints to our Doctor friend about what was really going on.

This stroppy, independent girl, was reaching out, and discovered what it is to ‘be in community’.  The pain didn’t go away immediately at all, but it was so much more bearable knowing that someone else could help me share the load.  Yes I felt vulnerable and yes I had to get over myself.  What is it about us women that makes us not want to admit weaknesses and frailties?  But I learnt a very good lesson – ‘Since we are all one body in Christ, we belong to each other, and each of us needs all the others’ Romans 12:5.

From opening up to one special lady, I then (picking carefully and wisely) opened up to more and more friends, learning that I wasn’t being needy, but at this stage in my life I needed them.  I was real.  And funnily enough, that was ok with them….  for as Rick Warren says ‘we are saved for serving’.  By serving each other – with prayer, with practical help, with loving arms and solid shoulders, ‘your love for one another will prove to the world that you are my disciples’ John 13:35.

I am forever grateful for all that my friend Rachel did, from the time I first really shared with her.  She inspires me every day.

If you are facing a mountain today, know that God is always there, but also know, that life is easier with a friend.  It helps to be ‘in community’.  Open up to someone that you have chosen carefully and wisely and share from your heart.  Life is not a solo act.

Leave a Reply

