In the eyes

He was a tall man yet he stood short.  His shoulders weighed down as if he carried many burdens.  Although it was a cold morning he wore only one layer.  His clothes were not dirty, yet they were ill-fitting.  The man had no arms.  His shirtsleeves were flapping in the breeze.  Although my heart jumped when I saw that he had no arms, what made me cry were his eyes.  He was looking at something, but saw nothing.  His eyes were completely devoid of life, lacking in spirit.

Flip the scene for a moment.

What would this homeless man have seen in me?  He would have seen a happy woman, surrounded by her family.  Full of life.  Keen to see all around her.  Did he see compassion?  Did he see love?  Did he see Jesus?

How I long for ‘Jesus eyes’.  How I long for people to see Jesus in me with my every glance, and my every giggle.

Have you ever been around someone with ‘Jesus eyes’?  Do you know what I mean?  That special someone has that God factor living and breathing in them, that beauty that radiates from the inside out and makes a stranger want to say ‘how are you different?’  I have had the privilege of being around some people who just love to hang out with God, so much that it oozes out of them.  They have the God factor.  They have ‘Jesus eyes’.  I have also seen people who in the natural may be very plain looking, but you factor in that ‘God factor’ and they have an attractiveness that is amazing.  Do you know what I mean?

So I am on a quest for ‘Jesus eyes’ and I am on a quest to have the attractiveness of the God factor all around me….and the only way I know how that can happen is by seeking the Lord, spending time with Him. More time in the Word. Upping the ante.  Committing to a deeper and stronger relationship with Him.

An amazing song \’Give me your eyes\’

‘If your eye is pure, there will be sunshine in your soul.  But if your eye is clouded with evil thoughts and desires, you are in deep spiritual darkness’  Matt 6:  22,23.

2 thoughts on “In the eyes

  1. Sorry.. duh moment.. just realised that song you mentioned is the probably the same one I talked about. The link didn’t work right for me for some reason

Leave a Reply

