God’s goal is not our comfort…..

From today’s ‘Word for Today’ Daily Devotional written by Bob Gass (the loveliest Irish man in the world!!)….

‘The Gospel does two things: It comforts the afflicted and afflicts the comfortable.  The truth that sets us free will make us feel bad before it makes us feel good.  God’s goal is not our comfort; it’s producing in us the character of Christ so the world will be drawn to Him’

IMG_0928

Oooooooohh I like that.

Really like that.

I am ashamed to say that I’ve got someone in my life who I’m finding a bit of hard work.  She is in need of friends like me, yet we’re quite different in our parenting styles, in where we are at with God stuff and being with her is quite honestly hard work.  It is draining.

God’s goal is not my comfort.

I would prefer to spend my time with someone a bit more uplifting, someone a bit more fun, someone who is going to challenge me.

God’s goal is not my comfort.

I may just be the right person to lead this person to a right relationship with Christ.  I may just be the right person to share a little of what I know to make her life a little easier with her kids.  I may be just the right person to elevate her self -esteem.

In all honesty I wish I wasn’t that person.  I’m going to have to establish a few boundaries in this relationship, but I’ll do it because God’s goal is not our comfort, but it’s producing in us the character of Christ so the world will be drawn to Him.

How do you deal with the ‘extra grace required’ people in your life?  Any tips for me?

2 thoughts on “God’s goal is not our comfort…..

  1. hi, i just read through several posts and want to tell you how much i enjoy your blog. you’re a great writer, encourager and you make me think. i plan on coming back soon.
    sheryl

  2. i KNOW and am TOTALLY ASSURED that you’ll find the right approach – how come i am so sure – cos you rock and you have such an open heart to people. its in your dna i reckon.

    i loved that start quote (i bet it sounds cool when bob gass SAYS it!) and pinched it and used it on the sound of a soft breath facebook page! hope that is okay!

Leave a Reply

