The Hurricane

It is said that a picture paints a thousand words…….well here are about 18 pictures to save me screeds of writing….

IMG_1096

Meet my second son, The Hurricane.  Also known as Luka (bringer of light).  Luka arrived with a real bang (notice I am still wearing normal clothes and not a hospital gown!), and has been letting off fireworks ever since.

IMG_0212

I wanted you to meet The Hurricane as he is the child that was never supposed to be.  He was the child that the experts said we could not conceive.  God won that battle.  God 1 – Experts 0.  And we will forever be grateful and thankful, fireworks and all.

It’s weird how infertility can strike at any time, to anyone.  We already had a dear son, The Thinker (Nathanael), but then ‘infertility’ struck.  With no cause, no reason, no answers.  At the time.  Now we know I was suffering from an undiagnosed condition, but more on that another day.

There is someone I am praying for now, who has had the experts write ‘infertile’ all across her charts.  I just want her to know that I am praying for her.  I don’t know any particular details in her life but I do know what that roller coaster ride is like, and I also know what can happen when God steps in and creates a miracle.
IMG_0411

Right from his earliest days The Hurricane seemed to have a twinkle in his massive brown eyes.  He showed clownish ambition very early on.

IMG_1601

The Hurricane has always been a very ‘busy’ boy (what I call it if I am in the good mood, if in a bad frustrated mood, it is commonly known as ‘full on’).  He started crawling at 5 months and has been on the go since.  Yes that is a whole packet of crackers he was ‘busted’ sampling.  And yes the cupboard did have a kiddy-lock on it.

IMG_2432

And yes he does plonk himself in water fully clothed without batting an eyelid.
IMG_2566

And yes he is VERY independent.  There was no reason in his eyes why he couldn’t man that kayak all by himself.

IMG_3048

Yet even with his raw energy and in his passion for just getting on and doing things, there is also a gentle and sweet side to him.  He loves animals, and he loves his friends.

IMG_4383

And he used to take a nap and give me some down time.

IMG_4943

He also loves his technology and is very good at that.  Which means I don’t have to play card games ALL day long with him.

IMG_5110

But yes, he does have a tendency to sneak foods.  This time it was the brown sugar that he was ‘busted’ with.

IMG_5141

Giving his friend Phoebe a nice hug.

IMG_5306

Have I mentioned his stroppy independence?  ‘I’ll do it myself’ is kinda a trademark mantra, whether it be pulling his own luggage or pouring his own milk.  By the way did you know that ‘Water is yuck, milk is good for me’.

IMG_5625

My most embarrassing moment EVER!!  I was doing a reading at my brother’s wedding and The Hurricane breaks ranks to come over to me, take a big swipe at me and then stands beside me, pleased as punch.  I wanted to die on the spot.   He NEVER lashes out – well he did then – but it was most unusual behaviour.  I’d like to think of it as a once -off event that I will never ever forget.

IMG_5712

Yes he is an adrenaline junkie.  The higher the slide, the bigger the wave, the taller the tree…you got it.  The above photo was taken at a waterpark in Australia and to this day he still talks about it as being his favourite place, his favourite person, his favourite everything….

IMG_6566

However – what is surprising is that The Hurricane can and will sit still when he needs to and has to.  Like for a twelve hour flight for example.  No drugs were necessary.

IMG_7526

The Hurricane really embraced the hot weather this summer.  The day this photo was taken it was 108 degrees and we were trying to fry an egg outside.  He insisted in a woolly hat, for no particular reason.

IMG_7250

We have also realized that The Hurricane loves our adventures and loves the Great Outdoors.

IMG_7663

And it is not a real day without a bit of a boogie in the kitchen.

I love that The Hurricane knows how to have fun.  He creates fun out of nothing and brings us such joy.  Yes there are times when I do pull my hair out and wonder how and why on earth he does certain things, and his big brother looks at him in amazement because he would never ever dream of doing some of the things that The Hurricane does….I read recently about how a hurricane has a very calm and serene center – and that made me think of my Hurricane.  As crazy and as full on as he can be, he still have a serene heart and a calmness to him.

His prayer tonight was ‘Thank you God for Mum’s hair (he has a hair fetish!) and thank you God for hot dogs for dinner’.

He is our miracle boy.  And I am praying that my friend HG will have her own little Hurricane one day soon.

3 thoughts on “The Hurricane

  1. Loved this account with pics–wonderful! I’ve made a little bit of $ off my own Magnificent Maggie–I NEVER expected it to be online tho! If you google my name it will probably come up, complete with her darlin’ little bare tush picture, like your little Hurricane!

    • Ohhh Patti – I laughed and laughed at your magnificent maggie – so funny! We certainly learn a lot from these strong-willed, good leadership material children!

Leave a Reply

