Swapping my HOPE

The fabulous ladies at (in)courage are looking at HOPE this month, and are putting the spotlight on what it means to each and every one of us.

What does HOPE look like in my life?  What things am I hopeful for?  How do I ‘wear’ HOPE?

I imagine that my HOPE chest of thoughts is a lot like yours.

My HOPE is in God.  It is in Him I make my decisions, around Him I centre my dreams and visions.

So what does this really mean in day to day life for me?

I HOPE that I am mothering children who are going to grow up knowing who they are in God, and that they will become Historymakers in their own right.

I HOPE that my relationship with my husband is a living and breathing example of a relationship where God is shown as our guide and thus we respect and love each other fully.

I HOPE that I can always make time for my friends, and can be there for their times of joy and victory, and times of trial and despair.

I HOPE that one day I will be able to wear clothes from a bag of maternity clothes that made its way into our luggage when we moved, that we will have a third and final addition to our family.

How fortunate are the things I hope for!  How blessed am I that these are all things that are about enriching my life and others.

I don’t have to HOPE that my children won’t die of malaria today. FACT A child dies of malaria every thirty seconds.

I don’t have to HOPE that we may be able to find fresh drinking water today.  FACT One in every eight people lacks access to clean water.

I don’t have to HOPE that my sons won’t be taken from me to join violent and oppressive child armies. FACT In over twenty countries around the world, children are direct participants in war. Denied a childhood and often subjected to horrific violence, an estimated 200,000 to 300,000 children are serving as soldiers for both rebel groups and government forces in current armed conflicts.

I don’t have to HOPE that we won’t get harmed from fellow-shipping with other Christians, for declaring our faith together.  FACT over 200 million Christians in at least 60 countries are denied fundamental human rights solely because of their faith.

I don’t have to HOPE that we won’t catch some dreadful, awful disease.  FACT In 2007, it was estimated that 33.2 million people lived with the AIDS disease worldwide, and that AIDS killed an estimated 2.1 million people, including 330,000 children

I don’t have to HOPE just to make it through the day.

But I do need to remember Proverbs 3 : 27 ‘Do not withhold good from those who deserve it when it is in your power to act’.

hope

I wonder how my faith would be different if I had to swap out all my HOPE thoughts for a vastly different life?  I’m not about to sit here and talk about what we all should or shouldn’t be doing for those less fortunate.  But I am thinking about what I can do more of to help those less fortunate than me.  It starts with me.  And fortunately I have HOPE, for I know Him.

2 thoughts on “Swapping my HOPE

  1. AWESOME post. i want to take that little boy in the photo home…
    i love how you’ve got perspective and HOPE my friend!
    keep HOPING in Jesus!
    i like Romans 15:13 – May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

    hugs, claire

Leave a Reply

