Declarations

Do you remember the story of Pollyanna?  Do you remember the game she played?  The Glad Game.  Regardless of how tough her physical reality was, she would declare aloud all the things in her life that she was glad about.  And it would lift her spirits.

I have done the same, over many years.  The Glad Game really does work – BUT – and this is a big BUT – you still need to face reality.  You still need people in your life that you can talk to, that know exactly what your reality is.  I have learned that it is ok to acknowledge your reality, even if it is an ugly, hard place to be in.  The key is – to not STAY in that place.

One thing that I have learnt to do, along with playing  The Glad Game, and along with being real and accountable with people, is to find things to declare aloud – to yourself and to God.  To your audience of One.  It is more than the power of positive thinking, it is verbally re-affirming who you are in Christ, and this is powerful.  There is so much power in the spoken word.  Here is a declaration that I love.  Why not, next time your reality is pulling you down, why not declare this aloud….and just wait and see what happens…

I am part of the fellowship of the unashamed

I have Holy Spirit power

The die has been cast

I have stepped over the line

The love of God controls me

The decision has been made

– I am a disciple of His

I won’t look back, let up, slow down or back away

My past is redeemed, my present makes sense, my future is secure

I’m finished and done with low living, sight walking, small planning, smooth knees, colorless dreams, faint visions, mundane talking, cheap giving and warped goals.

I no longer need pre-eminence, prosperity, position, promotion, plaudits and popularity

I don’t have to be right, first, tops, recognised, praised or rewarded.

I now live by faith, lean on His presence, walking in patience, live by prayer and labor with power.

My face is set, my gate is fast

My goal is the Kingdom of God

My road is narrow

My companions few

My Guide is reliable

My mission is clear

I cannot be bought, compromised, deterred, lured away, turned back, deluded or delayed

I will not flinch in the face of sacrifice,

hesitate at the pool of popularity or

meander in the maze of mediocrity.

I won’t give up, shut up, let up, until I’ve stayed up, stored up, prayed up, paid up, spoken up for the cause of Christ.

– I am a disciple of Jesus Christ.

I must go until He comes, give till I drop, preach to all known, work till He stops me.

– I am a disciple of Jesus Christ

– Edwin Lewis Cole.

IMG_7937

4 thoughts on “Declarations

Leave a Reply

