Be Still

I like to make things better.  I am a fixer.  A problem solver.  Sometimes I verge on being a tad controlling…..something I have to be careful of.  I get frustrated when things are out of my control, beyond my finger tips.  Something I can’t change.

I am learning though.  Slowly of course as these things take time.  Old habits die hard.  My Lord tells me from time to time to Be Still.  Some things are not for me to fix.  Some things are not for me to understand.  Some things are not to happen on my schedule, not according to my timetable.

Moses had some good advice when he said ‘Do not be afraid.  Stand still, and see the salvation of the Lord, which He will accomplish for you today…’ Exodus 14: 13.  Sometimes it best for us not to take matters into our own hands but to just stand still and wait for the Lord, to work His way.

Sometimes you don’t know how to pray about things, or you’ve prayed so much about something that you feel all ‘prayed out’.  Be Still my soul.

Psalm 116: 7  Return to your rest, O my soul, For the Lord has dealt bountifully with you.

Sigh.  It’s all about learning to let go and let God.

His will, His bill.

His will, His timetable.

And when you have that peace that passes all understanding, that can sometimes only come from being still; Sigh.  It is ALL worth it.

IMG_4057

Leave a Reply

