Free flowing??

I fixed my bathroom sink yesterday.  We have lived in this house for over four months now and the sink had drainage issues since we moved in.  It still worked though – so I was happy to let it be – until yesterday.

Yesterday was my day of action.  I armed myself with the white vinegar, baking soda and plunger and declared war on the sink.  I poured some baking soda down the drain, followed by a generous swill of vinegar and watched the resulting mini volcano erupt.  EWWWWW.  Then the grossness occurred.  The chemical reaction worked in loosening up whatever was gunking up the drain…and flecks of black awfulness started coming back out of the pipe.  Major ewwww.  Fascinating though.  I repeated the process a couple of times and then pulled out the big guns….the plunger.  I tried a couple of times to work the thing but to no avail – until my Knight in Shining Armor came along.  The Spunky Hunk did his thing and SUPER MAJOR EWWWWW he dislodged the most disgusting clump of filth I have ever seen.  Once that was safely out of the sink and the commercial grade cleaners had done their thing – the sink was fixed!!!  Water flowed freely down the drain.  Note – previous tenants are totally to blame for that filth – I claim total innocence (the problem was there when we moved in).

So last night after cleaning my teeth and having the water drain away quick as a flash, like it should, I was smiling to myself thinking ‘job well done’.  Then a sudden thought entered my head.  Prior to yesterday the sink had something blocking its flow – what was blocking my flow?  We all have things in our lives that stop us from being better conduits for the Holy Spirit, we all have blockage issues of some sort.  And my challenge to myself is to clear my drains – to make myself a vessel that God can work and through me, to do whatever He desires to, to reach others.

One of my major blockages is lack of time spent with Him. I’m not going to excuse it or explain it, but I am going to put a stop to it.  I know that the bible is more important than a particular possession staring with co and ending in r.  So I am going to make some changes in my life to that effect.

Another blockage in my life is holding onto past hurt and feeling like God owed me.  He doesn’t owe me anything. 2 Corinthians 12:9  His grace is sufficient for me and His power rests upon me.  Acts 2:20 He has purchased me with his own blood.  He will not let the high waters not hot fires of life drown me or burn me.  Isaiah 43:2. My heavenly Father has already done all he needs to do for me – He has already given me all the tools I need to do great and mighty things and He has promised to protect me every step of the way. He doesn’t owe me anything.

So those are a couple of my blockages – and now I have identified them I can work on them.  And when I have dealt with them I can be working and living with greater potential.  Just like I was happy for the sink to be how it was for over four months……it still worked but wasn’t as good as it could be….until yesterday.  Now it is doing what it was designed to do – working at its full capacity.  I want to be working at my full capacity, not just doing a mediocre job.

IMG_8153

How about you?  What are some of your blockages to doing more for God?

One thought on “Free flowing??

  1. Good insights. I find that God is usually sending me signals and messages about the things getting in the way of our relationship. I just have to notice and follow through.

    Congrats on your award from Heart-to-Heart with Holley.

Leave a Reply

