Surprise!!

Last week ended with two surprises for me.  One was great!  That was the kind of surprise that makes you jump up and down, do a happy dance that goes on forever and makes you want to call/email/facebook your friends immediately.  That surprise was a real answer to prayer and in all honesty a real miracle.

The other surprise was the kind that does not make you happy dance.  It was the kind of surprise that when it comes out of the blue, almost slaps you in the face and leaves you breathless for a while.  The kind of surprise that makes you want to curl up and cry.

The details of these surprises aren’t important – but rest assured no-one has died and no-one is about to die.  Whew.

I spent the weekend swaying from feelings of joy and wonder, to dismay and fear.  From certainty and blessed assuredness to mind numbing frustration and disappointment.

Then this morning  I was walking up my stairs for what felt like the billionth time already and it wasn’t even 9am (who needs to go to the gym when you live in a townhouse!) and this thought flashed through my mind; My surprises were not surprises to God.

My surprises are not surprises to my Lord and Saviour.

I know, that I know, that I know, that my steps are ordered by the Lord.

I know, that I know, that I know, that my family and I were led to a new ministry in America, for such a time as this and for a real purpose and every step of the way we have known that God has been leading us and providing for us.  He isn’t about to leave us now – his track record proves that.

I know, that I know, that I know, that curveballs are thrown at people all the time, and we are not immune to that.

I know, that I know, that I know that God does not call us to a place where he does not enable us.

These are the things I know.

And I know that neither the good surprise we had, nor the bad surprise we had were surprises to God.

So who am I to fret and worry, when He is already Lord of my situation?

5 thoughts on “Surprise!!

  1. Sigh. He’s rather insistent on that point, isn’t He? The being God part, that is. It is hard to be human sometimes and not see what He sees. I’m 3.5 weeks out from my due date with a baby who is our second surprise baby. I know this is the time He wanted, the life He created in me, and He has a purpose for it – but WOW, sometimes I wonder why it has to be so up-and-down crazy…

    Thanks for sharing this. I think I needed this today…

Leave a Reply

