He tangata

From my last post it would seem that I am finding life tough at the moment and that I am miserable……let me tell you though, it is not all bad.  I am not depressed, I am not a crying mess and I am not giving up.  But there are certain things that are my reality at the moment, and this blog is an excellent way of being real – with myself and with you.

So fret not.  I am made of thick and tough skin and I’ve been knocked down, but I get up again!

Happy New Year everyone!!  I hope this year has started with a real bang for you and that many blessed and exciting things are going to happen in the months to come.

As most people do at this time of the year I’ve done a little thinking about what the past year held for me – the highlights and the main events and wow!  What a ride it was.  We started the year with a  holiday in Australia for my brother’s wedding which was a really fun time for us.  Then it was home to NZ and I started homeschooling our eldest son while we waited for our visas to be approved for our move to America.   The visas came through and three weeks later we were on that plane to Oregon!  We carried on homeschooling all through that long and gloriously warm summer, then The Thinker started public school in September.  After much ‘should we, should we not go for it’ we decided to ‘go for it’ and I got pregnant with our number three child.  We celebrated our tenth wedding anniversary in November.

What a year!!  I can’t help but think of a certain quote when I think about all we’ve been through and the things that really matter to me.  The indigenous people of New Zealand are the Maori people and the following quote is a famous quote belonging to them……

‘He aha te mea nui o te ao?
He tangata, he tangata, he tangata’
‘What is the most important thing in the world?
It is people, it is people , it is people.’

It is people who have made things a lot easier for me this past year.  It is people who have opened their arms and homes and hearts.  It is people that I really miss.  It is people that I long to see.  It is people who I long to touch with a little of God’s love.  It is people.

I actually think that the most important thing in the world is God, but people matter to God – hence my love for this quote!

So as this year progresses I want my focus to be on people.  Loving people.  Helping people.  Hugging people.  Opening my home to people.  Serving people.

Yes last year was tough in a few ways – but the thing that made it easier was people. Even in my loneliness I can’t forget some people.  People who welcomed us, accepted random dinner invites, thought of the essential things we would need to set ourselves up and provided them for us.  People.  Thank you to those people.  You know who you are.

‘He aha te mea nui o te ao?
He tangata, he tangata, he tangata’
‘What is the most important thing in the world?
It is people, it is people , it is people.’

7 thoughts on “He tangata

  1. so true Fi . . . people’s are God’s favourite thing! great way to focus the year! People . . . I’m gonna try to 🙂

  2. I’m joining your focus, too. We seem to plan to having people over every year, but it seems that we always come up with one excuse after another. Our house isn’t nice enough, we’re too fat, we need new this or that. And really, when we do invite people over, we have a great time, our guests enjoy themselves and no one seems to notice what we have or do not have. I’m going to do better this year. Thanks for the encouragement and thoughts.

  3. wow, that was a full on year! what adventures are coming though eh!
    i love that quote, i love how you’ve applied it.
    you’re a great writer fee, i think cos you do expose your heart.
    you’re a great friend and great at creating great memories with people… great at hosting waffle breakfasts in the tinyiest of flats (how on earth did you fit even 1 more person in there lol!) and curry nights! i pray that you make awesome awesome awesome friends – cos i know you’ll bless them much!

  4. I think it is amazingly wonderful that you share your heart Fionna…and that you share it so honestly. It’s a beautiful things to be able to say “I’m not happy right now” but while you’re saying it to know that there is hope even in the unhappy. Blessings for a joyous New Year!! Angela

  5. I really enjoyed your conversation with the Lord in the last post. Today’s post is a nice compliment because it gives us a good context.

    It’s delightful to peer into the relationships that God creates with each of his children. Few things give me more joy. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

