For the Desert Times

119 people from one company in my little town, lost their jobs this week.

A friend of mine was told her sister needs a liver transplant.

A relative of mine had an ultrasound of her baby – revealing heart complications.

Another friend with both parents unexpectedly out of work, out of health insurance and needing health coverage.

Just a few examples of the kind of hurts that people around me are facing. And when they hurt, I hurt. And don’t words seem meaningless? Don’t you want to do more than say ‘I’ll pray for you?’ and ‘I’m here if you need me’. But both these sayings are important. And need to be said. And need to be done – prayer does change things.

For me, I get so much encouragement from worship. It seems sometimes a songwriter can get all the words out that I want to say, so much better than I could ever say it. So as well as say ‘I’ll pray for you’ I want to play this song for my hurting friends.

This song, The Desert Song, by Brooke Fraser, gives a whole bunch of encouragement in one sweet sound. Read the words. Listen to the song. See what the Spirit of God does in you as you listen. Let your desert times be ministered to. Let your heart be encouraged.
Let your soul be swept up and taken onto higher and deeper ways.

People need hope. In a world that is hurting – people need hope. Let this song be a song to encourage you and spur you on, to bring hope to others.

The Desert Song Lyrics

Verse 1:
This is my prayer in the desert
And all that’s within me feels dry
This is my prayer in the hunger in me
My God is a God who provides

Verse 2:
And this is my prayer in the fire
In weakness or trial or pain
There is a faith proved
Of more worth than gold
So refine me Lord through the flames

Chorus:
And I will bring praise
I will bring praise
No weapon forged against me shall remain

I will rejoice
I will declare
God is my victory and He is here

Verse 3:
And this is my prayer in the battle
And triumph is still on it’s way
I am a conqueror and co-heir with Christ
So firm on His promise I’ll stand

Bridge:
All of my life
In every season
You are still God
I have a reason to sing
I have a reason to worship

Verse 4:
This is my prayer in the harvest
When favor and providence flow
I know I’m filled to be emptied again
The seed I’ve received I will sow

(Watch the vid clip and the back story of the recording of this song….amazing…worship is so powerful).

2 thoughts on “For the Desert Times

  1. another song i really love, when i am feeling dry or in a hard place is bethel worships GOD I LOOK TO YOU…

    God I look to You
    I won’t be overwhelmed
    Give me vision to see things like You do
    God I look to You
    You’re where my help comes from
    Give me wisdom, You know just what to do

    I will love You Lord my strength
    And I will love you Lord my shield
    And I will love You Lord my rock
    Forever all my days I will love you God

    Hallelujah our God reigns
    Hallelujah our God reigns
    Hallelujah our God reigns
    Forever all my days Hallelujah

Leave a Reply

