The world of Me.

Seems to me there is a bit of an epidemic these days.  People – and especially those who participate in blogland seem a little obsessed with me, myself and I.

I get that at the start of a new calendar year it is always a good thing to set goals, to make lists, to prioritize and to get one’s house in order – literally and figuratively.  It is a good thing.  I like order and goals as much as the next pinterest obsessed person desperately wondering where to store the kids’ loot from Christmas.  But.  And this is a big BUT.  (my husband would giggle at that).  There is a danger when we are so compelled to write/ talk/ facebook/ blog/ tweet about me and my plans…..what I am going to do etc…..our focus becomes so inward that we forget what we are called to do.  We forget that we are called to be salt and light.  We forget that true, real joy comes from Jesus first, Yourself last and Others in between.

Self-centeredness = today’s robber of happiness for so many people.  I believe this.  I truly do.  I reckon that if more people would start thinking of others and of serving others and putting others desires and needs before their own then we would see things like the rate of depression come down, we would see happier and healthier children in our schools, we would see communities that actively show they care for people and we would see a generation of people actually being Jesus with skin on.

So.  Instead of me ranting on about how much this whole attitude thing disgusts me….how about you be real with me, and share with me a prayer need you have at the moment.  I’m not going to publish the comments from this post – but I can promise you this – by taking my eyes of myself and my own worries and issues and by chatting to my heavenly Father about whatever needs you have, then I’m doing myself a huge favour and I am going to be more joy-filled and it is a win win situation.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

