A thought from the rockin’ 90s.

Don’t let your heart be hardened – don’t let your love grow cold 
May it always stay so childlike – may it never grow too old 
Don’t let your heart be hardened – may you always know the cure 
Keep it broken before Jesus, keep it thankful, meek, and pure 

May it always feel compassion – may it beat as one with God’s 
May it never be contrary – may it never be at odds 
May it always be forgiving – may it never know conceit 
May it always be encouraged – may it never know defeat 

May your heart be always open – never satisfied with right 
May your heat be filled with courage and strengthened with all might 

Let His love rain down upon you 
Breaking up your fallow ground 
Let it lossen all the binding 
Till only tenderness is found

 – Petra (Bob Hartman)

Don’t you love it when from somewhere deep down in the memory banks, the words of a song come to you that fully explain your thoughts and feelings about something.  Rock on Petra and rock on the 90s Christian Pop Rock!  

I’ve been learning that there is so much truth to the verse in Psa 95: 8 (Don’t harden your hearts as Israel did in the wilderness……For there your fathers doubted me, though they had seen so many of my miracles before).  

It is only too easy for the walls of your heart to harden.  In a heartbeat it is easy to take offense at what people do, or don’t do, at what people say or don’t say.  It is easy to move away from a place of nearness to God. Up go the barriers to feeling God’s presence and all consuming love.  Up, up and up.    

For a bit I’ve felt my heart hardening.  For a bit.  And I don’t like that feeling.  I don’t like the fact that when those walls go up – I know they can’t come down quite as easily as they go up.  

As the verse says – the Israelites had seen God’s miracles before.  They knew better.  They should not have forgotten.  

I have seen God’s miracles before.  I should not forget.  I’m not going to forget.  I’m not going to let my heart harden anyway – I want it to be soft and maleable – a vessel for my Lord.  I want to let God’s love rain down on me.  Till only tenderness is found.  May my heart always be broken before Jesus – staying thankful, meek and poor.  Less of me and more of Him.  

I’m keeping a chisel handy……and keeping walls away from my heart……but it is a conscious thing – a thing to keep working at.  Like the farmer keeping the foxes away from the vineyard…..I’m protecting my heart.  How is your heart?

One thought on “A thought from the rockin’ 90s.

  1. and it’s soooo amazing when God calls the lyrics to your mind just when you need them. He really does love us, know us, and has us in HIS mind. A really big Wow to be thankful for. And I’m thankful to you for sharing. My heart seems to be getting MORE tender and malleable the older I get–and more emotional, too! Often not too thrilled about that last one, though. Take care, dear heart–for yours surely is that–dear!

Leave a Reply

