Five Minute Friday: Dance

Five Minute Friday

No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation.

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

5 mins of writing on a set topic.

I’ve decided that if I ever wanted to do more writing….and to really get serious about it then I need to be able to just write.  Simply write.  So I’m going to join some friends linking up at Lisa-Jo’s blog and we shall see what fun ensues…..

Start.

Dance.

My feet are not pretty.  They are not smooth and soft.  No, they are the feet of a once upon a time dancer.  They are calloused and rough, beaten up.  I think I went through three pairs of big toe nails.  So not natural.

Yes I was a dancer and I loved it.  Not a four year old dancer, plonked on the stage to live her Mother’s dreams out.  No, I was a late bloomer.  An eleven year old who wanted to be there, had to be there, even if it meant beginning with five year olds.

And now my feet tell the story of my once upon a time dancing.  My tiara sits in my bathroom…having travelled many miles with me.  One day I’ll pass it onto a friend’s daughter.  Or I’ll keep it for a granddaughter that I dream about.

The dancing world is o so pretty.  So full of whimsy.  But what lies behind the stages of tulle and chiffon and satin…..pain and heartache, muscles and dreams all pushed to their limit.  But that isn’t seen by the audience.

Much like we don’t see all that influential people have to endure.  The price they have to pay.  Not all is whimsy and tulle and delight.

STOP.

 

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Dance

  1. “And now my feet tell the story of my once upon a time dancing.” I LOVE this! Can so relate. I wrote about something similar. The world behind the tulle and chiffon. Beautiful post, my friend.

    • Thank you – I’ll have to read yours. It feels like a lifetime ago I donned my pointe shoes – but such a lovely mix of memories.

  2. “But what lies behind the stages of tulle and chiffon and satin…..pain and heartache, muscles and dreams all pushed to their limit. But that isn’t seen by the audience.”

    So true.

    I really enjoyed your words today.

    Glad I strolled over from Lisa-Jo’s place.

    Here’s to following your dreams and not giving up when it gets tough.

Leave a Reply

