Five Minute Friday: Story

Five Minute Friday

No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation.

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

5 mins of writing on a set topic.

I’ve decided that if I ever wanted to do more writing….and to really get serious about it then I need to be able to just write.  Simply write.  So I’m going to join some friends linking up at Lisa-Jo’s blog and we shall see what fun ensues…..

Start.

Story.

Blessed assurance, Jesus is mine;
Oh, what a foretaste of glory divine!
Heir of salvation, purchase of God,
Born of His Spirit, washed in His blood.

I think we get it wrong a lot of the time.  The whole our lives tell a story thing.  That’s the first thing I thought of with this prompt.

How can we live our lives to tell a story?

What can we do?  We think our words on paper or on the interwebby are the story too.  We place great emphasis on these words.  We tweet about them.  We draw attention to them.  We want to be read.  We want to be understood.

Perfect submission, perfect delight,
Visions of rapture now burst on my sight;
Angels descending, bring from above
Echoes of mercy, whispers of love.

But I think more often that not we get it wrong.

Completely wrong.

The story is not ours.

It is not about what we can do.  What we can write.  What we can talk about.

The story is His.  The story is the Lord’s.  It is about what He can do in and through us.  How we can lead others to Him, because of what He is doing.

The Christian life was first about doing and being. Before it was about writing.  The life led by the Spirit, in turns brings about the story.

This is my story, this is my song,
Praising my Savior all the day long.
This is my story, this is my song,
Praising my Savior all the day long.

His story, is our lives.  I want my story to be His story.

Perfect submission, all is at rest,
I in my Savior am happy and blest;
Watching and waiting, looking above,
Filled with His goodness, lost in His love.

STOP.

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Story

  1. The words to that song immediately popped into my mind as well, but I could not put them together into a coherent post. You did it absolutely beautifully and I am thankful to have been blessed enough to follow you and read them. Have a blessed Friday! And keep telling His story with your life! ❤

    • Thank you! And you have a blessed Friday too. Sometimes I fear my words are too harsh…..but I cannot help but get so tired of the me, myself and I that infiltrates blogland. The story truly is His, and if we’re not pointing to Him…..

Leave a Reply

