The lie of invisibility

Ever sent off a message into cyberspace giving encouragement, written in love, to not ever get a response?

Ever heard about social events, after the fact and felt that tug in your tummy?

Ever feel like it doesn’t even matter if you go somewhere or not – you won’t be missed  – your presence or your absence makes no waves either way?

Ever felt like you will never be someone’s first choice in a friendship – that you’re never the one they pick up the phone to call first, or to arrange social gatherings first…you’re more the afterthought……

These thoughts are something I’ve been struggling with lately, and I figured if it is something I’ve had struggles with……I reckon I’m not alone in these thoughts.

All of these things result in giving you a feeling of invisibility.  That you don’t matter.  That your life doesn’t matter.  That you can make no difference in the world.

These thoughts: they are all wrong, all nasty, and if I were  a woman preacher I would stand at the pulpit and declare ‘they are lies straight from the pits of hell’.

I do believe this is all wrong wrong wrong.  But I need to remind myself and maybe you do too. YOU do matter.  What you say does matter.  How you live does matter.  Where you go, does matter.  Who you know, does matter.

Satan would like us to think otherwise because when we know WHO we are in Him, we are a force to be reckoned with.

When we know WHO we are and WHOSE we are, and when we REMEMBER this and live knowing this, then we don’t let these thoughts of feeling invisible get to us.

So.  Who are we in Christ?

I am called of God by my name (Isaiah 43:1)

I am engraved on the palm of God’s hands (Isaiah 49: 16)

I am delivered from the power of darkness (Colossians 1:13)

I am a new creation (2 Corinthians 5:17)

I have a purpose for living (Jeremiah 29:11) (Ephesians 1:11 – 12)

I am never forsaken (Psalm 27:10)

I have a father (Psalm 68: 5)

I am a temple of the Holy Spirit (1 Corinthians 6:19)

I am receiving a kingdom which cannot be shaken (Hebrews 12:28)

I am loved with an everlasting love (Jeremiah 31:3)

I am crucified with Christ (Galatians 2:20)

I am the light of the world (Matthew 5:14)

I am more than a conqueror (Romans 8: 37)

I am an ambassador for Christ (2 Corinthians 5: 20)

I am accepted in the beloved (Ephesians 1: 6)

I am beloved and chosen by God (1 Thess 1:4)

I am healed by the wounds of Jesus (1 Peter 2:24)

I am free from condemnation (Romans 8:1)

I am complete in Christ (Colossians 2:10)

I know God’s voice (John 10: 14)

I have all my needs met in Christ (Philippians 4: 19)

I have everlasting life (John 6: 47)

I have power to control my thoughts (2 Corinthians 10:5)

The Lord is my rock and salvation (Psalm 18: 2)

I have received power from the Holy Spirit to heal the sick, cast out demons, defeat the enemy (Mark 16: 17)

I forget the past and go forward with Christ (Philippians 3: 12- 13)

I have received the power that raised Jesus from the dead (Ephesians 1: 19- 20)

I always triumph in Christ (2 Corinthians 2:14)

There is a lot of power in them thar words.  There is a lot of hope in them thar words.

The key for me  is to read and believe these words, over the words, the very lies that the devil tells me.

Let’s choose hope dear friends.  Hope.  No-one is invisible to my Lord.

2 thoughts on “The lie of invisibility

  1. Hello!

    I stumbled upon your blog tonight, and I do believe the Lord had His hand in it. I wanted to thank you for writing this… I know it’s 2 years later, but I’ve been going through this for a while. So thank you for taking the time to write out all the specific promises of the Lord!
    Shalom and blessings to you and your family!
    Fiona, from Canada

    • Hey thanks for commenting. I’m grateful that God can still use this little ole blog of mine. I hope that you will be on the other side of that mountain soon. Xx

Leave a Reply

