Five Minute Friday: Here

Five Minute Friday

No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation.

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

5 mins of writing on a set topic.

I’ve decided that if I ever wanted to do more writing….and to really get serious about it then I need to be able to just write.  Simply write.  So I’m going to join some friends linking up at Lisa-Jo’s blog and we shall see what fun ensues…..

Start.

It is getting late on a Thursday night, but Friday is already here for a lot of countries.  I’ve got the Olympics on, even with NBC’s dismal coverage the games still brings with it a huge element of wonder and awe.

I find myself swelling with a whole bunch of national pride.  For a tiny nation of only 4.4 million New Zealand seems to do all right on the medals chart for medals per capita.  I’ll take that!

I was thinking how hard it must be for those athletes who train so very hard, for some of them it is their one chance of a medal.  Their performance can be over in minutes and doesn’t really represent all those hours and hours of training – of physical and emotional work.

Commentators talk of focus.  Of being present.  They have to be fully there.  Fully here.  What enormous grace under pressure they display.

Here.

Yet their ‘here’ is not a permanent thing.

‘Pray for us Christians to honour God through the sport we do, but also that we’d use it as an opportunity to show the world that there’s something more to life than the games’ – Richard Chambers, Silver medalist, London 2012.

There’s more to life than those games.  What they train for – sweat for, miss family events for, travel many miles for.  There’s more to their ‘here’.

What are my eyes and ears not seeing about my ‘here’ and now?  Are my legs standing firmly in my present – or is one foot itching ahead…sneaking into the future?  Or, could one of my legs be dangling in my past?

STOP.

10 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Here

  1. I really love this post. I haven’t gotten to watch any of the Olympics yet this year but I am always in awe of that kind of preparation and skill and the mental attitude necessary to get that far. I took masters swim classes a number of years ago and they focus on our form. When swimming our eyes are always straight down, instead of looking ahead or to the side. It seems counter intuitive to not be able to see where you are going, but it saves energy and is much more efficient. I often think of that when I get ‘stuck’ in the past or worry about the future. Great reminder. What part of New Zealand are you from? I lived there for about 6 months back in 97. I was in Paparoa, North of Aukland. Beautiful country and yay that you guys are doing so well in the Olympics.

    • I love that – eyes down! That is a fantastic reminder. Thank you! We were most recently in Auckland, before that we lived in Christchurch, and before that Dunedin and Invercargill. Hope you enjoyed your time there! xx

Leave a Reply

