Five Minute Friday: Stretch

Five Minute Friday
No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation.

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

5 mins of writing on a set topic.

I’ve decided that if I ever wanted to do more writing….and to really get serious about it then I need to be able to just write. Simply write. So I’m going to join some friends linking up at Lisa-Jo’s blog and we shall see what fun ensues…..

Start.

Stretch.

If I wasn’t so proud to wear the silver fern, and to boldy proclaim my kiwiness, I would want to be Italian.

Truly.  I adore Italians.  I think Italian food is straight from heaven, I drool over pictures of coastal Italian villages, I dream of shopping every day at the markets…..but most of all I adore the people and the way they embrace life.

Life!!

In all its fullness.

Life!!

The embracing of the extended family.

The passion the Italian people hold for things they feel are important…it is infectious.

The stretch as they open their arms to friends and family, and to new friends.

You know the people that move me the most are the people that stretch open their arms.  Stretch open their hearts.  Open wide their homes.  They share with me the good, the bad and the ugly.

While I haven’t met many Italians here on this journey we’ve been on over the last three and a half years….I’ve met a few people who HAVE stretched open their arms.  And they have taught me and reminded me of the importance of making room for others.  Stretching open the doors.  Seeking out those who are hurting.  Looking out for the lonely.  Feeling the pain of those around me.

STOP.

5 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Stretch

  1. As soon as I saw the word “stretch” my thoughts went inward to all the ways that I personally am being stretched. But I love how your thoughts led to the ways that others stretch their arms, open wide for living and loving and letting people in. btw, I’m thrilled to meet you. 🙂 And love knowing that we’re in this living in a foreign land thing together, even though on different continents.

Leave a Reply

