Five Minute Friday: Join

Five Minute Friday

No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation.

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

5 mins of writing on a set topic.

I’ve decided that if I ever wanted to do more writing….and to really get serious about it then I need to be able to just write. Simply write. So I’m going to join some friends linking up at Lisa-Jo’s blog and we shall see what fun ensues…..

Start.

My brain is mushy.  My heart is emotionally strung.  We’re two and a half weeks into having my in-laws stay with us.  It is all crazy wonderful, crazy wonderful.

Tonight I’d love to be able to write fluidly with heartfelt words and gorgeous similes, to be able to paint beautiful word pictures.  But I just don’t have it in me……what I do have is a definition.  A new meaning to the word ‘join’.  I learnt something today.

JOIN (noun)
The noun JOIN has 2 senses:

1. the shape or manner in which things come together and a connection is made
2. a set containing all and only the members of two or more given sets

There you go.  A join is a set containing all and only the members of two or more given sets.

We’re a join.

You and me.

We’re part of the wonderful world of Five Minute Friday.  Bless that Lisa-Jo’s very heart.  And we’re part of God’s family.  You’re my sister.  My brother.  We’re bloggers and readers united.

A join.

Welcome to my world, friend.  We have a duty to love each other, to encourage each other. To be real and to be authentic.  To break down walls.

What a blessed responsibility.

STOP.

15 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Join

  1. Thank you for this. I definitely needed to read that this morning with my first FiveMinute Friday and not feeling that anyone is really out there willing to “take in” the newbies. I am a part of something. I have joined.

    • It is very easy to feel like there is a core group of ‘cool kid’ bloggers and that ‘I’ll never belong’….but if you’re blogging for the right reasons…..not of that matters – no matter how real it feels. You are a part of something and thank you for joining. Now to come and read you…..

  2. I love that you’ve illustrated your point with the image. I wish everyone on the Internet could remember to be kind and honest with each other. It would be a much better world!

  3. You can write that with guests in your house?!? In five minutes?!? You are my hero. I couldn’t write a single word with my mother-in-law was with me for two of the weeks!

    So thrilled you gave the definition. I learned something, too! Love it…

    Honored to meet you, Fiona! Looking forward to getting to know your heart more. Five minutes at a time….

    All for Him with hugs to you,
    Nikki

    • HAHA!! My brain isn’t quite right though…i have to say……half a week still to go…..;-)
      Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Your Venn diagram is what drew me in. Does that mean I’m a geeK? Probably, but the picture is so perfect. This is where we overlap and truly join in community. Perfect!

  5. So love this. “And we’re part of God’s family. You’re my sister. My brother. We’re bloggers and readers united.” To know that we are entwined through Him, through our words that we share each week. What a blessing! Thanks so much for sharing!

Leave a Reply

