Five Minute Friday: Graceful

Five Minute Friday

No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation.

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

5 mins of writing on a set topic.

I’ve decided that if I ever wanted to do more writing….and to really get serious about it then I need to be able to just write. Simply write. So I’m going to join some friends linking up at Lisa-Jo’s blog and we shall see what fun ensues…..

Start.

Graceful.

‘Hi.  I’m Fiona.  As in Shrek.  But I’m no Princess’.  Has been a common opening line for me.

Fiona.  It is an ok name.  I could take it or leave it.  It means ‘fair one’.  Apparently my Dad chose it for me.  I never really liked it growing up, but no biggie.  If I’d been a boy I would have been named Luke.  I was a surprise in more ways than one, my parents so generously tell me.  😉

Now my middle name, that’s the one I love.

Charis.  Fiona Charis Brown.  That’s me.  It is greek for grace.  It comes from the same derivative as charismatic and charisma.  Sounds the same too.

I love meanings of names and when we named our boys we took into account what their meanings are more than how the names sounded, or what the initials spelled out or what the name could be shortened to.

Nathanael – gift of God

Luka – bringer of light

Asher – blessed, happy.

One of my many hopes and prayers for my boys is that they live up to their names.  That God is honoured in and through their lives.  Just like for me and Charis.  I have a constant reminder of what I’m about – who I am – is all about Him.  All about grace.

Unmerited.

Undeserved favour.

I’m so grateful for the grace in my life.  i want to be graceful in all I do.

May my life ever be an outpouring of grace to others, for all that the Lord has done for us, and will do for us.

16 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Graceful

  1. Hi, stopping by from Five Minute Friday. That last line really spoke to me – and I pray it is true of my life as well. Since a name is more precious than rubies (if I’m getting the gist of that verse right at 1 in the morning?), I really enjoyed reading the definition of your family names. Thank you for sharing!

  2. So blessed by our time together tonight friend. Am so looking forward to getting to know you more. My name means blessed. Definitely feeling that tonight. 🙂

    • Very appropriate for you!! What a difference it makes to have just one person step up and ask a specific question like you did. God is good.

  3. “All about grace.
    Unmerited.
    Undeserved favour.
    I’m so grateful for the grace in my life. i want to be graceful in all I do.”

    These words equal the cry of my heart, too. Lovely.

  4. Oh I love this! And girl, you’re a princess in my book.

    We named our firstborn Mathias. Meaning Gift from God. Because that’s exactly what he was 9 years to the day after we wed…

    My name means victorious and my parents would always joke they had hoped for a girl and I was… 😉 But let’s face it. I fulfilled my name when I began this scandalous love affair I’m in with my Redeemer. The one who laces me with grace every moment of every day….

    So thrilled to be getting to know you through this community, Fiona! (and I LOVE YOUR NAME!)

    Hugs to you,
    Nikki

    • Ahhh Mathias is another lovely name with good meaning!!
      Soo great to get to know you too. Hope you’re not too tired today. xx

  5. That’s what my post is about! My Dad was in seminary when I was born. They chose to spell it a little differently, though -Kariss. I love that the Israelites chose names to reflect character or a situation. And, I love that you chose to follow that with your boys! Joining from FMF!

  6. Fiona, I love to read your thoughts! I am so inspired continually by your commitment to growing in God, to honoring Him in all you do. It is so apparent in everything I’ve seen you say (since I’ve never HEARD you say something…isn’t that weird?) I love your name Fiona Charis — how beautiful! My name Ashley Morgan is strange, really. Two boys’ names when I was given them in ’74. Ashley means “of the ash meadow” and Morgan “dweller by the sea.” I guess it’s interesting now that I’ve typed those out. One refers to land, another to water. God has always spoken to me through his creation, so maybe that makes sense in some strange way. 🙂

    • Wow – that’s interesting about your name and creation and you….love it!!! The name Ashley in NZ has always been used for both girls and boys equally….Morgan is not so common though – but I think it is pretty. Thank you for your constant encouragement. I can feel your hugs from here.

Leave a Reply

