Five Minute Friday: Focus

Five Minute Friday

 

No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation.

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

5 mins of writing on a set topic.

I’ve decided that if I ever wanted to do more writing….and to really get serious about it then I need to be able to just write. Simply write. So I’m going to join some friends linking up at Lisa-Jo’s blog and we shall see what fun ensues…..

Start.

I love it Matthew 14 where Peter says to Jesus ‘Lord if it is you, tell me to come to you on the water’.  He’s sending out a challenge of sorts.  Prepared to change his unbelief.  He’s laying out a challenge…much like a six year old….you do this for me, and I’ll believe you.

So Jesus meets his challenge.  ‘Come’ he says.  And come Peter does.  He walks on the water.  BUT when he notices the wind he begins to sink.  For as long as his focus was on Jesus, he was waltzing on that water.  As soon as his focus became blurred, there was the potential to be swimming with the fishies.

Focus.

It’s a key, such a key.

When your focus is right with God, on God, then blessings follow.  Tent pegs are stretched out.  Families see blessing.  Sacrifices are willingly made, with the right motive and intent.

When your focus sways the things of this world become so much more appealing.  The audience of one is swapped for the crunch your numbers who is reading my blog question.  People’s opinions matter way too much.  The road less travelled becomes bumpier and full of many appealing detours.

Focus.

Lord, may my focus be fully on you, today and every day.  Give me faith to walk on water when I need to and not be swayed by the storms of life.  Amen.

STOP.

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Focus

  1. Love this line: Give me faith to walk on water when I need to and not be swayed by the storms of life.

    It’s so easy sometimes to lose our focus on Him when we get discouraged, afraid, etc. Beautiful post!

Leave a Reply

