Five Minute Friday: Afraid

Five Minute Friday

No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation.

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

5 mins of writing on a set topic.

I’ve decided that if I ever wanted to do more writing….and to really get serious about it then I need to be able to just write.  Simply write.  So I’m going to join some friends linking up at Lisa-Jo’s blog and we shall see what fun ensues…..

So here goes….

START.

Talk about vulnerable.  Opening up oneself to share a struggle.  To share a piece of the ugly.

It is one thing to share about something God has brought us through. Something we have victory in.  A completely different thing to write about something that is a thing.  In the here and the now.

Afraid.

I’m afraid.  Not of spiders, although earwigs completely gross me out.  And snakes are something we are definitely not used to.  Not of the dark. Not of heights.  Not of sickness nor trials and tribulations.  Somehow my soul just knows that He is with me.  Somehow we can see in our track record that God has always looked after us and will not depart from us.

But what I’m afraid of is the gap.  The gap between knowing what I’m called to do, and what doesn’t happen.  The gap where we are held accountable for the things we didn’t do.  I’m afraid that my best, just isn’t my best.

I’m afraid of missed opportunities to speak life and show hope.

I’m afraid that I focus too much on my issues and struggles, and in looking down, forget to look up and out.

That’s my afraid.

That’s where I need grace to seep in.

STOP.

IMG_1338

8 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Afraid

  1. Love this post. I like how you began, “Talk about vulnerable.” That was my immediate thought too when I considered this prompt. About somehow opening yourself up to share some intimate place, a secret place, a space, a time, when, yes, I am afraid. I love too how you share it is not the usual things, the mundane things, but there is ‘something’ and I know if we all are honest, we all have that ‘something’ that makes us afraid.

    • thank you! Yeah we all have something…..hard to admit it at times though…in a way its like saying Yes we believe in God – but He is not Lord of all…..life is such a journey huh….
      Thanks again for your kind words and stopping by.

  2. So true…how many opportunities and blessings have we missed out on? Are we truly living up to our potential? to the purpose we were created for on this life? It’s daunting!!! However, grace and forgiveness and redemption are within our grasp our God is so much bigger than what we don’t do. Be encouraged, we’re all in this…let’s pray for one another that we live up to our calling.

Leave a Reply

