Five Minute Friday: Bare

Five Minute Friday

 

No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation.

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

5 mins of writing on a set topic.

I’ve decided that if I ever wanted to do more writing….and to really get serious about it then I need to be able to just write.  Simply write.  So I’m going to join some friends linking up at Lisa-Jo’s blog and we shall see what fun ensues…..

So here goes….

START.

Bare.

I recently asked my Facebook friends ‘if one was born with a limited supply of toenails?’.  I said I was asking for a friend….but if you know me you would know that was completely tongue in cheek and ohh my goodness……I am big toenail-less.

Gross huh.

This not a foreign phenomena for me….when I danced I lost several pairs of toenails due to pointe work.  Ohh the joys of it.  But they always grew back.

Now.  Nada.  No proper nail there. Just a very thin layer of something that could resemble a nail, but isn’t, so I squawk if a child happens to stand on my feet and demand ‘up’.

I’m not quite sure why this has happened…and after I got over the initial ickiness of it all….my thoughts turned to summer and ‘ohhhhh no..what will I do?’  Our particular valley gets warm.  Scratch that.  Its gets hot here!!  We have multiple days in a row where the thermometer tips over the 100 mark.

Little fact:  one cannot wear covered toe shoes in over 100 degree weather.  Well this one cannot.

I am gonna have to wear flip flips at some point or another and expose my ugly big toes to the world.  Well this little world I live in, anyway.

Me in all my bareness.  Baring my vulnerable spot to others.  Showing my deformities.  Ewwww.

But isn’t this what God asks of us?

To come before him – in all of our true selves – the fingernails kept in ok shape, as well as the big toes baring no nails.  We can’t expose only the good parts of us to the Lord and think that’s ok.

Nope.  He wants to change us – to transform us – to become more like Him.  The more we hold back from Him, the less He is able to invade us – every nook and cranny of us.

Bare.  Lord I come before you, bare, every part of me, with my selfishness, my pride, my controlling nature exposed and I ask you to change me.  To shine your light in and through me.  I pray that I never try to hide parts of me from you.

PS.  Lord, may I have a pair of new big toe nails just happen to appear by June?

toes

14 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Bare

  1. Beautiful are the feet of those that bring good news!!! I know that may not help a ton….but I kept thinking it, so there ya’ go. May God work on each of our hearts….as perfect love continues to cast out all fear…thanks for the reminder!

  2. Enjoyed this post. It is very different from the rest I have read, which makes it interesting. Well I hope you get your toenails and if not, the inspiration you got from them for this FMF is beautiful. Lovely prayer and thoughts all the way around. So true. Your words blessed, so thanks for sharing.

  3. I don’t know if my comment made it or not but just in case it didn’t I was very blessed by this and am amazed how God uses things that bother us to bring us to a vulnerable state where he can use us… Bless you!

  4. Oh my! Now that’s funny right there. (Sorry, I’m not poking fun of your bare big toes, just loving your sense of humor about it.) Love your post and your prayer even more. Visiting from FMF.

  5. I don’t think I’ve ever lost a toenail and I had no idea they could just be…missing. Huh? I guess I learn something new every day. 😉 Now I’m seriously intrigued. You must keep me updated with the missing toenail saga. I will definitely want to know if you have new toenails by June because if I remember correctly it is crazy hot down there. I don’t think I ever really look at people’s feet or if I’d even notice missing toenails. Now I will be inspecting them all summer, out of sheer curiosity. I seriously love this post. It was different and I love that even if you are deformed. 😉

    • I will definitely keep you informed on the toe nail saga….tehehe…..thank you for caring 😉 You see you loose toe nail when doing pointe work from all the pressure you put on your feet..they get bruised easily. This time around…not sure why..’tis a mystery indeed. Maybe related to my celiac disease…maybe I need some more of something in my diet….
      Anyway – thanks for letting me share about my deformities with ya! I am a deformed dork, but at least I can laugh about myself.
      Hope you’ve had a good day yourself and that migraine didn’t eventuate…did it?

Leave a Reply

