Genuine Wisdom

‘But the wisdom that comes from heaven is first of all pure and full of quiet gentleness.  Then it is peace-loving and courteous.  It allows discussion and is willing to yield to others; it is full of mercy and good deeds.  It is whole-hearted and straightforward and sincere.  And those that are peacemakers will plant seeds of peace and reap a harvest of goodness’  – James 3: 17, 18.

 

O boy that James has good things to say.  Those verses are very much one of the cries of my heart.

I long to be full of pure wisdom and quiet gentleness.

Courteous.  Even when I’ve been mistreated.  Even when my insides are screaming out in pain.  Even when the other party is wrong, just plain wrong.

I’d like to yield to others, I would, truly.  I’d like to have  my mind changed on a few things – when I can see God showing the way – pointing out His way.  This discussion thing though….this freak me out a little.  OK, maybe a lot.  So often I come away from reading blogs and I feel out of my depth.  I’m a college educated girl.  I’m reasonably well-read and reasonably learned, but time and time again I read something and I feel like my opinion doesn’t count because I either don’t know how to accurately express it, OR I don’t know what the bible says on this matter and THAT is what matters most.

There are always a few hot topics circling the interwebs.  Some are frustrating, some enlightening, and some a huge blessing to read about.  Before reading this verse I’d been on the fence about discussing really heavy topics.  BUT now I’m thinking…….genuine wisdom, wisdom from heaven DOES allow discussion.  I just need to know my bible inside out.

This is good!

This is right!

I also love that one who has wisdom is full of good deeds and mercy.  The whole putting into practice business.  Words are cheap, but actions show the world where we’re really at.

Wisdom is wholehearted, straightforward and sincere.  Those who are peacemakers will plant seeds of peace and reap a harvest of goodness.

I’m all for open books, yeah?  I’ve never been into fake anything. And I want to be planting seeds of peace and reaping a harvest of goodness, leaving a legacy.

These two verses are sooo good……what I need to take away from these is the need to enter into discussions, to be ‘unzipped’ and to be confident in my opinions and know that discussions are good – not something to fear.

What do you take away from these verses?

James.  One of my favourite dudes.

blogpic1

 

One thought on “Genuine Wisdom

  1. The road to hell is paved with good intentions–the road to heaven if paved with g’zillions of small kindnesses and goodness. Ahhh… Awww… Awe.

Leave a Reply

