Five Minute Friday: Broken

Five Minute Friday

No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation.

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

5 mins of writing on a set topic.

I’ve decided that if I ever wanted to do more writing….and to really get serious about it then I need to be able to just write.  Simply write.  So I’m going to join some friends linking up at Lisa-Jo’s blog and we shall see what fun ensues…..

So here goes….

BROKEN.

(words in bold by Jeremy Riddle, ‘Sweetly Broken’)

To the cross I look, to the cross I cling
Of it’s suffering I do drink
Of it’s work I do sing

For on it my Savior both bruised and crushed
Showed that God is love
And God is just

Today’s prompt is broken.  And tomorrow we remember what Christ did for us.  For all of us.  His body – beaten and broken.  And I – I am whole and healed.

Chorus:
At the cross You beckon me
You draw me gently to my knees, and I am
Lost for words, so lost in love,
I’m sweetly broken, wholly surrendered

What kind of gift can I ever give to the Lord?  How can I ever thank Him?

What a priceless gift, undeserved life
Have I been given
Through Christ crucified

You’ve called me out of death
You’ve called me into life
And I was under Your wrath
Now through the cross I’m reconciled
Chorus:

In awe of the cross I must confess
How wondrous Your redeeming love and
How great is Your faithfulness

This gift – this is what I can give to Him: an awe of the cross.

A knowledge of His redeeming love.

Remembering His faithfulness.

This gift: my brokenness.  This is what I can give to the Lord, for all that happened on Calgary.  To be wholly surrendered.

To live depending on the cross. Clinging to it.  Desperate for it.

Sweetly broken. The best kind of broken to be.

I owe Him nothing less, for He has done everything for me.

STOP.

easter

16 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Broken

  1. Oh friend what sweet words you’ve shared. Beautiful song that is an incredible reminder that He was broken to make us whole. Died so we might live. Beautiful. Blessings.

  2. “You’ve called me out of death
    You’ve called me into life
    And I was under Your wrath
    Now through the cross I’m reconciled”

    Praise God for the Cross and it’s finished work!

    Janelle Marie

Leave a Reply

