This gift we have

Yesterday I was thinking some deep and meaningful thoughts along the lines of self-confidence and outward awareness.  I posted on facebook:

I really admire people who remain outward focused and concerned about others, while keeping their own self-confidence healthy. Too often it is a case of having either, or.

And it is true.  I do admire those people in my life who have a healthy self-esteem yet still have concern and time for others.  But, in all honesty, there aren’t many of those people around.

Do you ever find yourself in the situation where you easily find words to encourage someone but then it becomes an expected behaviour from you, and you feel like you transition from encouraging friend to number one fan club?  I guess this happens where there in no reciprocity in the friendship – no two way encouragement.

Unfortunately I see all too often people who appear to have lots of self-confidence, a very positive self-esteem and their worlds are mainly concerned about themselves – their trials and victories, their lives.  But notice I said people who appear, appear to have it all together on the outside.  

The truth is we all could do with more encouragement.

The truth is we all need each other.

If you’ve spent any time at all on my blog you’ll know that this is my thing.  My heartache.  The thing I will harp on and on ad infinitum and ad nauseam.

We need each other.  We need community.

We have this gift at our disposal.  Each and every one of us.  Not matter how confident and secure in ourselves we are, or appear to be.  We need to give this gift and we need to receive this gift.

We all have the gift of caring.  Of taking an extra two seconds to ask someone about themselves.  Of taking the spotlight off of ourselves and onto another person.

We don’t need fan clubs.

We need people around us who care.  Who love.  Who stand by us.  Who are present.  We need to be those people to others.

Even if those others don’t reciprocate.  Love anyway.

Even if those others have quite well established fan clubs.  Give of yourself anyway.

The gift is inside of us, just waiting to be delivered.

Why, why, why is this so important?  Why, why, why am I convinced that we need to do this more and more?  Why won’t I shut up about it?

“Your love for one another will prove to the world that you are my disciples.” – John 13:35

There has to be something in us that appeals to others.  There has to be something in us that makes us different to scores of other friends.  That something and someone is the Lord.  By loving others – the spotlight is shone quite brightly on Him.

And that’s what it is all about:

Caring about others, because He cares for us.  Showing others we care through word and deed, because He cares for us.

Giving others this gift we have – this gift of caring – because when we start to use this gift, it never runs out.  It’s like a never-ending fountain of goodness and flows on and on.  A well that never dries up.

This gift we have.

fountain2

 

 

14 thoughts on “This gift we have

  1. so true–you know I believe this too. Odd how when I am truly sick, like in hospital-my caring about others goes out the window and I don’t even think of others and their needs. Really weird for me to be totally 110 % self centered, and to think some peeps live their entire life like that. How awful. Ick, even! Oh well. Keep preachin’ it, little sister!

    • ohh but Patti – I believe that there is a time and place to really concentrate on you and especially when you were so sick like that…..but as you said…it was a temporary thing…..hard for people to continually live in that place. Love you Lady!!

  2. I agree! And you’re right; it can’t just be about the giving and the loving. It can’t just be about the confidence that comes from knowing who I am. The older I get, the more I realize I will never fully grasp the depth and width of the love of God. But I do know that without it, I am lost. He is my only hope. It doesn’t matter how much love someone shows me, how good I feel about myself – if the foundation of it isn’t Christ, it is hollow. But oh, to cast off our worries about spiritual growth and boundaries and just LOVE someone. To love them wildly and ridiculously and unreservedly because of His love; THAT is what this world is so desperate for. Thank you, sweet friend, for the thoughts and encouragement today.

  3. Thank you for sharing. This has been on my heart for so long and you put it beautifully into words. ♥ we need God, we need eachother, we need community!

  4. This is beautifully put and so true. To give ourselves away and love one another regardless! Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

