Five Minute Friday: Song

Five Minute Friday

No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation.

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

5 mins of writing on a set topic.

I’ve decided that if I ever wanted to do more writing….and to really get serious about it then I need to be able to just write. Simply write. So I’m going to join some friends linking up at Lisa-Jo’s blog and we shall see what fun ensues…..

So here goes….

START –

SONG.

I love that God made birds to sing.  I love that different species of bird have different calls and sounds and songs.

There’s something so magical about waking up in a new and foreign to you country and hearing the native birds singing.  The chorus at first light.  Welcoming the new day.

Even after natural disasters, birds sing on.

If someone is listening or if no-one is listening, birds sing on.

Birds don’t need score cards or record deals, they don’t require positive feedback or constructive criticism.  They just sing on.

I think we all could learn from the birds.  The games we play and all.

I can’t help but wonder what our worlds would look like if we just sang the songs we were supposed to.  What if we didn’t look to the left or the right, but just up?

What if we didn’t check stats or facebook comments and likes, retweets and responses?  What if we just wrote the lyrics of our songs, the words God places on our hearts?

What if, like the birds who don’t need to sow or reap, for their heavenly Father looks after them, what if we didn’t worry about how we would be received?

What if we all sang the songs we were created to sing – because we couldn’t not do that?  What a mighty sound that would be.

STOP.

birds

 

24 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Song

  1. What if we didn’t look to the left or the right, but just up? <—This, You know sometimes the hardest thing to imagine is that He created me with a special song that no one else can sing. Loved that you spoke of the birds that no matter what just sing, Beautiful friend. Blessings.

    • Ohhh Wendy – you play such a unique role – in your real life and in your online life….you are such a blessing and brave and touching heart…..I think you underestimate how far your reach goes….xxxx

  2. What if we didn’t look to the left or the right, but just up? boom! wow thats profoundly brilliant. well done again fee! i love how all of creation sings and worships God. i was biblegatewaying through psalms the word SING and the rivers sing and the trees clap their hands in worship. they’re got their perspective right. they’re looking up, always.

    we’ve had a tui around our house this week – and wow, it has a wonderful song.

    i wish we knew WHAT the birds were singing – there must be an app for that… they would have glorious worship songs!

  3. I love to hear the birds singing – and actually can understand the birds in a foreign country first thing in the morning – it is amazing, soothing, soul satisfying. What a precious visual of of us singing/speaking/writing/giving/sharing as we are meant to regardless of the feedback. We are each meant to sing our own song and make a joyful noise to Him, for Him, because of Him. What precious memories you have shared. I wonder if you are referring to a mom, sister, aunt, or special friend – either way, you have honored them in memory and shared with us. Thank you for making yourself vulnerable. (visiting from 5MinFriday)

  4. Fiona, I think you are touching a very important matter with your words. I think I should look at my priorities and see what song has become the most important in my life!
    God bless you, Fiona
    Mia

  5. What if we just let God write our stories and our songs? I struggle with this and am constantly wondering how much greater use to Him and this world I could be if I would just let Him be God? thanks for this.

  6. “I can’t help but wonder what our worlds would look like if we just sang the songs we were supposed to. What if we didn’t look to the left or the right, but just up?”
    Why do we spend so much time looking at everyone around us, thinking that what God has THEM doing is what he would want US to do? Every one of us has her own purpose. We just need to look UP. Love it.

  7. Do you have mocking birds in NZ? We have a fun one in our yard. It can do a Canada Goose, a Red-Tailed Hawk, and can scream like a little girl playing in the backyard.

    • No I don’t think we do – but we have heaps of native birds…the tui in particular has an awesome call……amazing sounds….

  8. Fiona! Yes, yes, and Amen! I don’t think I’ll ever think of a birdsong the same way again, or be able to envision them doing anything other than singing their little beaks out happily – regardless. I. Loved. This!

    • thanks!! God did good when making the birds huh. Well with all of creation…..but I really like birds I’ve decided. 🙂

Leave a Reply

