Five Minute Friday: Listen

Five Minute Friday

No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation.

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

5 mins of writing on a set topic.

I’ve decided that if I ever wanted to do more writing….and to really get serious about it then I need to be able to just write. Simply write. So I’m going to join some friends linking up at Lisa-Jo’s blog and we shall see what fun ensues…..

So here goes….

START –

Listen.

I’ve always had a love/ hate relationship with this whole social media and blogging thing.  In some ways it is the coolest thing, to be able to reach out from beyond our four walls and at the click of a button proclaim life, encourage and exhort and to find kindred spirits.  In other ways, it can be a false reality.

Last night I saw Lisa-Jo’s prompt go live.  I sat there and I started thinking.  And then came the onslaught through my twitter and facebook feeds.  Read this.  I just posted this.  This was my blog. Linking up now.

And something within me became a little crushed, a little worn, and a little deflated.

Oh I know there is good.  Tremendous good. There are many blessed and inspired words strung together to create something glorious over the internet.

But the whole orchestra of instruments all together chiming ‘read me’ is essentially the same as saying ‘listen to me’.

And I think as much as I love the hearts behind the blogging, I need to listen to Him more.

I want to tune in to the conductor, more than the individual instruments. For without Him, there would be no harmony, no connections and continuity.  No meaning.

As much as cyberfriends can reach out and love on people. Our Abba Father is at the ready, wanting ALL of my heart.  BOTH of my ears.  ALL of my attention.

We are all instruments, yes?

Let’s tune in to Him, just a little more, yes?

So that we can turn our readers to Him, just a little more.

STOP.

orchestra

8 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Listen

  1. Fiona,
    So glad I stopped by your site! Pure and lovely post re: Listen.

    Reminds me of the word God spoke during Jesus’ mountaintop Transfiguration: “While he was still speaking, a bright cloud covered them, and a voice from the cloud said, ‘This is my Son, whom I love; with him I am well pleased. Listen to him!'” (Matthew 17:5). http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Matthew+17:4-6&version=NIV

    Here’s a second for first listening to Jesus, then writing to point our readers to Him! A God-glorious reminder. Thank you.

  2. Amen… Such beautiful words… I feel like I’m hot or cold on this … It’s easy to get caught up in… Easy to just create more noise in His name… But you’re right… Just need to listen to the Conductor himself… It’s a constant daily battle for me to keep that balance in check… Thank you for this sister:) love you!

  3. Your words are so true. I also struggle with the ‘loudness’ of all the social media & blogging. I’m thankful to hear others expressing this struggle – none of it’s bad, just becomes too much so quickly & easily. I pretty much don’t do social media and I’ve been locked out of my blog for a couple weeks…so I’ve been feeling like a spectator and you put into words what I’ve been thinking. While I get ready to play again – I want it to only glorify Him and be for His purpose. Thank you again for sharing this and putting it “out there”.

    • thank you for sharing the same sentiments and for letting me know…sometimes I feel quite alone in this love/hate relationship….so it is nice to know I am not alone. I so don’t fit the typical ‘faith blogger’ mould, if there was one…..
      Good luck to you with ‘re-entering’…..

Leave a Reply

