Five Minute Friday: Lonely

Five Minute Friday

No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation.

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

5 mins of writing on a set topic.

I’ve decided that if I ever wanted to do more writing….and to really get serious about it then I need to be able to just write. Simply write. So I’m going to join some friends linking up at Lisa-Jo’s blog and we shall see what fun ensues…..

So here goes….

START –

Lonely.

Loneliness is a battle.  A gut-wrenching, heart-twisting, ear-burning battle.

The state of being alone…away from beloved friends, away from beloved family, the state of being physically alone………..over time…..day after day, month after month, it rips into your soul.

Just as in battle a soldier must turn to face the enemy, by choice – a very intentional thing, when you’re fighting the battle against loneliness, you have to turn your back on your feelings, and face strangers.  Face those strangers, stick a smile on your face, and be interested in them. And gradually, over time, those strangers…become…..dear and beloved friends.

That’s the battle.  To ignore the feelings of self-doubt, the wonderings of ‘what will they think of me?’, to reach in and through the cultural differences and accents and speak the language of commonality.  Find  a common thread.

Ohh there are times of tears.  Times of pity parties.  Times of desperate need for chocolate.  Days of longing for the phone to ring. Weeks of hungering for someone else to take the initiative and extend the hand of friendship….

But it is a battle.  Loneliness can’t hang around.  It can’t take ground and grow roots. For it defeats a person.  It causes too much inward thinking and not enough outward and upward looking.

That ripping I mentioned before?  Caused by loneliness?  The fortunate thing about that…like any battle scar it can tell a story.  A story of victory, of overcoming, of the Lord’s provision and ultimate comfort…..if you look to Him.  If you allow Him to creep into the hurt and bandage up your wounds, with His love a salve moisturizing deep down.

hand

13 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Lonely

  1. I’ve never made friends easily. Not deep soul ones at least and to get to that you have to go past the tedium and find a common thread. And that vulnerability can scar you. I have those scars too. But this—> “like any battle scar it can tell a story. A story of victory, of overcoming, of the Lord’s provision and ultimate comfort” Yes, the scars are faded now and I’m learning the blessings of friends who take my hand and tell me I belong. I love this write, Fiona. Absolutely beautiful as are you.

    • thanks Alia. Yeah that vulnerability thing…and the being burnt thing….that’s hard and it hurts and it takes time to get over, that’s for sure. It is hard when you’re like me and you feel things so very deeply…..but then when you do find real, kindred spirits….ahhh…..so very worth it….

  2. He is a healer, isn’t He? He takes our wounds, makes them whole, and then tells us to get back out in community again. I love how He continues to stretch and grow us while bringing us the community that encourage us in Him even more.

    • yep. All for Him……no point being a leaky pot but stuck at home, dwelling on your loneliness……

      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Wow. Once again, you show how rejecting belly-gazing and reaching out brings life. Even when everything in your flesh says look here, and why don’t they reach out to me and …and….and… Your testimony inspires me, friend — even though I’ve not moved across the world and have lived here my whole livelong life — you inspire me to continue to do the reaching out and choose not to feel sorry for myself when I feel forgotten and ignored, and it stings. You help your readers choose to give thanks for this life God’s given us. Thank you! xoxo

  4. I’ve never gone across an ocean, but sometimes the gaps feel that wide. It is frustrating feeling like you always have to make the first move, then you change your perspective to that being a giftedness and a calling of sorts. It’s a good work that reaching out!

  5. Oh… this brought tears to my eyes when I read about the ripping of the soul. Yes. That is exactly what this loneliness feels like. And that salve … yes. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

