Welcome Here

I read an article the other day that talked of how there have been numerous snake hatchings lately…..there are lots of snakes being found in various suburbs of the city I now live in.

I don’t do snakes. The thought of encountering one makes me throw up a little in my mouth. Spiders aren’t so bad. But snakes? Slithery, slidey, poisonous thingies…….nah…….I’m more than a little afraid.

Since reading that article, I can’t go out to the washing line without first looking carefully at the lawns and checking for snakes, then I give the pile of grass clippings behind a tree a very good look at too…..

I’ve been dwelling on those words that I read. Can’t get them out of my head. What we choose to see, read, hear, we dwell on. It is as simple as that.

I can choose to dwell on the negative thoughts I have on the house we live in at the moment and I can fret about finding a house to move into as soon as our lease is up and how that is all going to work out, I can choose to dwell on the lack of communication I have from some people I dearly miss, I can choose to dwell on the right here, right now issues at hand in my life. Or I can choose to dwell on the good and right – happy and settled children, newly forming friendships, the steadfastness of my amazing husband and so very much more.

But even more than dwelling on the good – even more than just thinking positively, I’m experiencing a new desperation for the Holy Spirit in me…..the peace and direction from Him and only Him. The following of His promptings. Making space for Him. He’s filling the gaps, being the grouting in the wobbly and misaligned tiles in my life.

But this making room – it has to be an intentional thing. He has to be sought. But He comes through! Jeremiah 29:13 ‘You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart’. The New Living Translation says ‘If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me’. What a promise we have. What comfort and strength can be ours.

No more snake articles for me…..just more of Jesus……more of Jesus……this song is my prayer at the moment…holding me together…..

2 thoughts on “Welcome Here

  1. AMEN my friend! I love this song… and the truth of where we let our minds wander… it’s more than staying positive – it is JESUS… when we think on Him, He just swoops right in! (And we know how He feels about serpants!) Love you!

Leave a comment